The Future Isn’t so Far Away

This week I filled out my Intent to Graduate form. That within itself is worth writing about simply for the fact that I was so surprised by it. It really just doesn’t seem like I have been in college this long, but this time next May I will be preparing myself to receive a Bachelor’s of Science degree in Chemistry with a minor in music. College is one of those things that can simultaneously make you feel like you’ve been there for both a few months and a few dozen years. Naturally, I’m now starting to get the anxiousness that comes with preparing to graduate college.

This morning I met with my professor and we talked about what classes I was going to be taking, what I needed to do to prepare for graduate school, how to take the GRE, and so on. It all seems pretty surreal and I’m so glad that I made the decision to go to Lyon three years ago. The impact this college has had on my life has been monumental.

Work has been going really well here at Future Fuel. There hasn’t really been anything exciting happen here lately, but the work I’ve been doing has taught me a lot of things about the chemical industry as well as time management. I believe I might be getting to stay here during the summer and work which will be very cool. Although I don’t know where that position will be, I don’t think I have too much to worry about at a place like this.

My Scotland trip is also rapidly approaching and the more we talk about it in class, the more excited I get. As of right now we have all of our tickets bought and we have been going over the logistics of the trip. Probably one of the things that I’m most excited about is seeing all the cities and small towns. It doesn’t take very much to impress me so getting to see all of the scenery and old buildings, as well as meeting so many new people, will itself make the trip worth it.

As far as I know we will leave out of Memphis around May 10th and we will fly to Newark, New Jersey where we will then get on a plane and go straight to Edinburgh, Scotland. I have already promised myself that I would try some new foods no matter how gross or scary they may seem.

-Chandler

Leave a Reply

