Is It Over Yet?

The last week has been very crazy for me. While I’m currently writing this on my spring break, I still have massive amounts of homework to do. Last week was midterm week for me, and it was the craziest, busiest, most tiring midterm week I’ve ever had. While some of the work itself wasn’t that hard, it still absorbed almost all of my time. I actually had to ask off work just so I could get everything done!

I still have homework and studying to do for the coming weeks, and I just hope to endure and keep working as hard as possible. I am currently taking 17 credit hours this semester and working on all the days that I don’t have a lab. Trying to balance work, which I still thoroughly enjoy, and school, and retain any type of personal life, has certainly been a challenge. However, I know that through all of this I will hopefully sharpen my time management skills as well as my work ethic.

I still really enjoy my job and I’ve been working hard on several projects. Most of the work I’ve been doing has been compiling databases and assisting people in making sure that we comply with all the regulations put in place. It has been very cool to see another side of chemistry and not just the lab part. I really think that this will help me a lot in my career because a lot of people in the lab have told me that chemist don’t usually learn about these kind of things. If I already have a knowledge of regulations and safety when going into a chemistry career, it could give me somewhat of a leg up on other chemists. I am very grateful to be here and have this job.

I am going to try and see if I can stay on here this summer and maybe save up to get an apartment. There is a lot going on and I’m trying to make changes in my life regarding managing both my money and my time. It’s going to require every bit of strength God will give me, because I certainly can’t do it without His help. My education, finances, and job are all a blessing and I hope to become a good steward of all that God has given me.

-Chandler

Leave a Reply

