Progress

This week has been a busy one for both work and school. Life is becoming increasingly busy for me as we get closer and closer to midterms. I’m certainly not complaining, because I enjoy every second of it, but my sleep has definitely taken a hit the last few weeks.

At work I have been working on somewhat of the  beta version of a new database. This new database is for all of our finished products and raw materials that we have on the plant site. Through this database we can type in the ID number, or name, of any substance and see all of it’s GHS classifications that have been pulled from their SDS’s. Now as you may have guessed, this means that I had to pull up and read the SDS’s for a few hundred chemicals and enter the information one by one. This took me quite sometime, but I finally finished this week! Next we will be exploring the next phase for this database and see where we need to take it from here.

This week has also had me pretty busy in other areas of my life. Not only were there two gospel concerts I had to play at, I also had an absurd amount of homework and pulled an all nighter trying to get it done. This Thursday was also “Shine a Light on Slavery Day” which I helped coordinate as the Lyon college Campus Representative for the End It movement. The End It Movement helps bring awareness to the 20-45.8 million people that are still enslaved all around the world including the U.S. I helped by chalking information onto the library windows, organizing a prayer vigil, putting up fliers, and also standing at the cafeteria to put red X’s on peoples hands and tell them about the movement. The red X is the signature mark of this movement, and it definitely catches people’s eyes, which presents you with an opportunity to bring awareness to what’s going on in our world.

I also started working out this week at the company gym. As an employee I have full access to the facility and I can come and go as I please! I usually go after work in the evenings and I thoroughly enjoy running. This is my first time getting into the gym since I started college, and it has worn me out. Admittedly I’m not in the best shape, but I’m getting addicted to working out.

Overall though I’ve been very happy and excited to be working. The money I’m making is going to help me go to Scotland this summer and also possibly help pay for an apartment this fall! I’m very excited for all that’s going on and I can’t wait to see how God is going to guide me.

 

-Chandler

Leave a Reply

